[4] French cleats

Since receiving my long awaited boards for the final show, I fixed my first three boards with french cleats. Below is a picture of the wooden fix on the wall and the frame on the back of the board, I’ve angled it so you can see how the cleats slot in together.

unnamed (1).jpg

I chose to try the French cleat fixing system because it allows the board to appear as if floating and looks professional. Because of the style of work I am creating, this fixing method seems ideal; it creates an impact and it’s subtle, not overpowering.

unnamed (2)

Having these boards has given me the chance to really visualise the sort of landscapes I want to portray. I have managed to make a good start on three paintings, I have planned out the composition of each board by making smaller collages. I want them all to be colourful and individual but also work together as a series when shown alongside each other. In some, the mountains will carry on to the next and in others, the same style of figurative trees strengthen their relationship as a series.

5

1
2017 acrylic on board
2
Enter a caption
4
2017 acrylic on board

 

Published by

lilypadx

18 years old, first year fine art student in Cardiff :)

Leave a Reply

