[3] Woodblock print

I have always enjoyed printmaking, and often gone to it when I find myself in a rut trying to paint free hand. I started thinking about how else I could represent the environment and thought about woodblock printing as really there is no technique more organic, there is something special about taking the time to carve a woodblock and having that sculptural element as well as a print.

I chose to represent a waterfall in Betws y coed. Betws y coed is a small town in Snowdonia, it is special to me as from a very young age I have holidayed there. The most recent visit was again in Easter last year, I am still amazed by the views I see when I visit, it’s a truly inspirational place with natural pastoral scenes.

This woodblock project has helped me to find new patterns in my representation of the landscape, using different shapes and forms helps to inform the print. The stone is represented by circular forms and the river represented by flowing lines.

woodblock

print

Published by

lilypadx

18 years old, first year fine art student in Cardiff :)

Leave a Reply

