SARAH LUCAS

Sarah Lucas Au Naturel 1994
Sarah Lucas, Au Naturel 1994
Sarah Lucas, 'Self Portrait with Fried Eggs' 1996
Sarah Lucas, Self Portrait with Fried Eggs 1996

 

Sarah Lucas is a well known contemporary female artist, who took part in the Venice Biennial for England’s pavilion when I visited Venice back in October 2015. I love Sarah’s raw enthusiasm and how confident her art comes across, from my feedback I was told to bring my food and sex in art on a more contemporary level. “Sarah Lucas has gained an international reputation for provocative works that frequently employ coarse visual puns and a defiant, bawdy humour.” Sourced from the Tate website, I am influenced by her raw, erotic humour and hope to incorporate these new connotations into my paintings of contemporary foods with hidden connotations. Sarah is very bold and obvious in her work, which make them striking and interesting. I enjoy her concept and I think she is an outstanding female artist with such a great attitude, I hope I can adopt this psychologically as I make my own art as this would help my work to become more ambitious.

 

Published by

lilypadx

18 years old, first year fine art student in Cardiff :)

Leave a Reply

