My old pomegranate

I still wanted to do something with my last half pomegranate, I began modifying it with my hands which was easily done because of the severity of its decay. I found the more I squeezed it, spores of dusty mould would smoke out along with deep red juice which oozes.. I also took some photographs;

IMG_3847[1]IMG_3848[1]IMG_3849[1]IMG_3850[1]IMG_3851[1]IMG_3852[1]

The pins I have used in modifying my pomegranate make it seem a bit morbid, and as I look through them I think about FGM, which was made illegal last year in the UK. FGM is a practise which happens in African culture along with many others. “The practice predates all religions, with one of the earliest recorded incidents being in the tombs of the pharaohs’ princesses” & “In 2015, Nigeria, because of its population of more than 175 million has reportedly the biggest number of cases of FGM in the world, accounting for about 15% of all women cut in the world.” Sourced from the Guardian 

(also taken from the Guardian article hyper-linked above. “It was a woman who was mutilated while she was giving birth in a public hospital, because in her village they believe that women who have not been mutilated are prostitutes. I was so shocked that I decided this was something I am going to highlight”

 

FullSizeRender (4)FullSizeRender (5)FullSizeRender (6)FullSizeRender (7)FullSizeRender (8)

My images of the rotten pomegranate does show connotations of female genitalia, the dark red juice drips resemble blood or period blood. On another level, the decay of the fruit could also parallel with the decay of religion (which is where FGM originated.) This assemble of photographs show how the female image has changed in religion through time, and now in this modernised age we are letting go of religion and this is what this piece is all about. After researching about this topic, I found an awesome page…

ARTISTS AGAINST FGM

The link above will transfer you onto a website, where many artists have raised awareness of FGM through this project. This boosted me to be more ambitious with my imagery.

Published by

lilypadx

18 years old, first year fine art student in Cardiff :)

Leave a Reply

