pomegranates & sexuality

After many many drawings and studies of the pomegranate fruit, I have decided to move my concept onto fertility and sexuality. After some substantial research, pomegranates and fertility go hand in hand with regards to culture and religion because of the many seeds they hold inside. As I paint the pomegranate I subconsciously paint the skin in sections and they often take the form of a vulva. Below is a painting I am putting forward for the field exhibition, when it is completed I want it to be a semi abstract acrylic painting of the pomegranate but with subtle vulva’s incorporated within. I chose to use dark red blues and purples because those colours generally symbolise sexuality, lust and femininity (although i’m sure some will disagree). Below I have included my painting so far..

FullSizeRender (1)

 

I plan to creating a second pomegranate vulva painting to go with the first, this time I want to use a range of greens. I choose greens because personally I think they symbolise growth, harmony, freshness, and fertility.

Below I have inserted images of my pomegranate paintings so far;

FullSizeRender (2)FullSizeRender

FullSizeRender (3)

Published by

lilypadx

18 years old, first year fine art student in Cardiff :)

One thought on “pomegranates & sexuality”

Leave a Reply

