CONTEXT-LOCKER&SHOEBOX

SLINKACHU – An artist who uses tiny figures and photographs them to give an illusion of the objects around them to look huge (litter for example) , using nature within his photographs is really effective, making miniature scenes using everyday things we wouldn’t normally look twice at. I think these photographs and street installations are really effective and highlight the litter problem the planet holds and makes city dwellers more conscience of their surroundings ad the environment we live in. Its important to my area of work because the environment is important to me. He states on his website that his ‘aim to reflect the loneliness and melancholy of living in a big city, almost being lost and overwhelmed. But underneath this, there is always some humour. I want people to be able to empathise with the tiny people in my works.’

ANDY GOLDSWORTHY – This artist uses nature as his main theme, he creates wonderful sculptures using the forest, the river and other rural areas. His sculptures show geometry and are effective because they make the chosen areas look more interesting, I feel that they are quite spiritual and show great forms within the natural world. Using branches, stone, ice. I think its beautiful how he creates geometric designs within the natural environment. He takes natural art to another level, they seem spiritual and pagan like some sort of ritual. I love his idea of collaborating with nature, and for my site venue project I want to use nature as a use of material.

BEN LEWIS GILES – sculpture/installation/collage. I’ve included an installation piece he had done with trees, he made small butterfly pieces and stuck them all around the trees. They look really pretty and add something extra to the tree itself. On his website he claims that his works show ‘Nature, metamorphosis, light, colour, collage,collaboration, juxtaposition, repetition, excitement, evolution, manipulation,music, television, improvisation, participation and seduction are all components in my practice.’ I enjoy seeing how he has taken the environment and made it personal to him, creating art within the environment helps people to appreciate the environment and become more aware of what our surroundings look like.

These three artist references for site/venue will really help me with my own studio practise work for the project as working with the natural environment is something I am always excited to do. By gathering plants and foliage I can make my own miniature sculptures and draw/paint from them to show in a locker/shoebox environment. It will look striking because the small hand-picked plants in a smaller environment make them appear larger similar to Slinkachu’s work.

Published by

lilypadx

18 years old, first year fine art student in Cardiff :)

One thought on “CONTEXT-LOCKER&SHOEBOX”

Leave a Reply

