Field; Contextualisation

Here, I have included a few images showing data visualisation that I thought were successful in regards to aesthetic value and holds well presented informative data which is easy to interpret;

ecosystyemIntro
This example of visual data shows a cross section of layers in the Gulf of Mexico’s ocean. In relation to my I would like to do something similar to this, so it is clear and concise and has all relevant information. I also love how naturalistic and brightly coloured the image is as a whole, it makes it eye catching and interesting to look upon.
ng_gulf_spill
This example shows how many oil infrastructures there are in the Gulf of Mexico, old and new. The map shows over 4,000 oil rigs that are in U.S waters, after recent damaging oil spills in this area of the planet, showing this is staggering to see. A very geographical example, its technical factors make it seem scientifically accurate.
context
This isn’t necessarily a data visualisation poster but more a advocative poster. I really love the illustrations, and I think the statement is really powerful and works well using illustrative imagery from around the 1600’s. Also, it shows a strong visual story line which would attract people of all ages to see it.
princes_infographic
This green peace poster is full of data visualisation, showing the true dangers of using large nets in the ocean and using fads which lure any oceanic species not just tuna and therefore can have devastating effects.

From my contextual research, I have decided that my work needs to have an attractive look and data which is relevant and clear on the poster. Using these posters as guidance to help me with my own work, I will be trying to use my own fine art practise in this project, by sketching and using watercolours and acrylic to create a visual illustration to correspond with some local articles I have found during research on the Taff river.

Published by

lilypadx

18 years old, first year fine art student in Cardiff :)

Leave a Reply

