FIELD – 10/11/15

Riverscapes & Sequences

Today in my field group we walked from university to Cardiff bay following the Taff trail, the weather was grey and rainy and the river was high and had strong currents which I thought were important attributes of any river, especially as today we were taking photos and trying to find objects that could inspire our work.

Throughout the walk the feisty current in the Taff really caught my eye, I was noticing shapes being formed and how quickly they were changing, I knew this was what I wanted to think about for the project.

IMG_2845 (2)
Taken on my iPhone, I’ve focused in on the ripples in the water, they remind me of the works I had looked at previously by Bridget Riley.
IMG_2847 (2)
Taken on my iPhone
IMG_2841 (2)
Taken on my iPhone, Taff River

Along the walk I also decided that doing a wood cut of the shapes in the river, this made me think of Prunella Clough.

English painter, printmaker and draughtsman. Looking at her works she really focuses on shapes and using print to make them vivid and representational. I am thinking of doing some sketches which portray the rivers fierce current using videos and photographs I took along the walk.

Float 1950 Prunella Clough 1919-1999 Purchased 1984 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/P07909
Float 1950 Prunella Clough 1919-1999 Purchased 1984 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/P07909
Kippers 1954 Prunella Clough 1919-1999 Purchased 1984 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/P07911
Kippers 1954 Prunella Clough 1919-1999 Purchased 1984 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/P07911
Published by

lilypadx

18 years old, first year fine art student in Cardiff :)

Leave a Reply

