Photo City Post #2

From doing a lot of photography over the past few days for the photo city project and my own personal work, I thought I would add the images onto my blog and talk a little about them.

From the first group of photographs, i decided to go further with the idea of weeds/plants growing through walls and repossessing the buildings. I took these with my coolpix nikon camera, I used a feature made for close ups on plants. With that I managed to get some really interesting and vibrant images, I really like the brightness of the green in the first image and the red stalks – i think it brings a lot of colour to a really small plant. (this is a close up image of a plant about 2cm tall growing in between a crack of two bricks).

DSCN1402
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1422
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1403
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera

I was surprised to see that these plants/ weeds are everywhere on top of walls, I found them really interesting firstly because of how small and intricate they were. Once I had my camera settings adjusted to shoot these images I could get the full colour and fine detail of the weeds. I spent a few weeks taking images both digital & film and got some really interesting photographs.

DSCN1394
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1395
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1397
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera

For the above images using flash gave the plants a darker background which I think gives it more of a focus point, but I also thought the flash reduced the colour and made everything a little too light and gave it too much contrast and I liked the background being blurry and out of focus in the first set of images.

Overall, my thoughts towards the photographs I managed to take for the unseen City brief were positive. I was happy with the outcome of photographs I had set out to capture and I’m glad I chose the photo city because it has really helped me learn new skills in photography. I realise now after this project I need to take a lot more photos at the start of the project as it helped me out to have a lot of my own imagery as ground to work from.

Published by

lilypadx

18 years old, first year fine art student in Cardiff :)

One thought on “Photo City Post #2”

Leave a Reply

