Photo City

This term for my Tuesday afternoon group I chose to do the photo city brief, our first task was to take photographs of Cardiff City and try and find the unseen parts of the city. As I went out into the City I tried to find scenes which were interesting to me personally, When I take photographs I tend to look a lot at nature and the environment around me. Taking images in the suburbs and centre of Cardiff helped me to take photos which were more interesting and they are a representation unseen areas which fitted into my brief ‘unseen city’.

DSCN1227
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1234
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1241
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1243
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera

The above images show the suburban parts of Cardiff with common aspects like graffiti, posters and some pretty nasty man made fences, tunnels and walls. What I have found within these images though is that the composition shows how nature can also incorporate itself around this landmarks, for instance, the ivy crawling over the tunnel and plants growing on the fence, I liked this idea of nature repossessing urban areas so decided to focus on that subject.

DSCN1245
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1250
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1248
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1249
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera

Using the idea of nature incorporating itself in modernised parts of the city is really special I think in the above photos. Especially the plant which has some how managed to find a way of growing through a brick wall, makes me wonder how did it get there? What could possibly be feeding this plant to make it live in such a hostile concrete environment? I also thought about how long the process would take for something to become overgrown, and that even small weeds have the power to survive and grow larger through time.

DSCN1275
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1282
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1284
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera
DSCN1294
Taken by myself using a Nikon Coolpix L310 digital camera

These images show decay and erosion in some parts of the city which have been forgotten, natures repossession of urban areas makes me realise how powerful the environment is and the photos have inspired me to take this idea forward.

I also thought about how we walk past some of these parts to get to the main centre of the city and sometimes we don’t appreciate the whole of the city, but only the centre which is cleaned and looked after regularly unlike the suburban areas I captured in the project.

Published by

lilypadx

18 years old, first year fine art student in Cardiff :)

One thought on “Photo City”

Leave a Reply

