Further research onto Final Piece

Our half way point in the project is a formative assessment on the 8th of Decemeber, where we get the work and this blog assessed and then we have one to ones on how we can improve our work. So far i have been concentrating on window sills, and how windows can act as a barrier from outside life to inside. I have gathered some images of windows which have character and show certain aspects of dirt and window sills which show signs of deterioration within the wood for example. below are the photos i took.

IMG_8084
Image taken in Ironbridge, at The White Hart public house using Nikon Coolpix digital camera
IMG_8085
Image taken in Ironbridge, at The White Hart public house using Nikon Coolpix digital camera
IMG_8086
Image taken in Ironbridge, at The White Hart public house using Nikon Coolpix digital camera
IMG_8087
Image taken in Ironbridge, at The White Hart public house using Nikon Coolpix digital camera

I took these photos in Ironbridge, a small town with the river severn passing through. Knows for it’s history and a tourist attraction, with lots of pubs and bars. The White Hart is where the above photos were taken, I love how the white window panes are a bright blue colour to show which brings out a sense of icy weather and real contrast between the warm glow of the inside. The dead shrub on the window sill, which was covered in spiders webs and other creepy crawlies from closer inspection.

IMG_8095
Photo taken at my house using Nikon Coolpix digital camera
IMG_8096
Photo taken at my house using Nikon Coolpix digital camera
IMG_8097
Photo taken at my house using Nikon Coolpix digital camera
IMG_8098
Photo taken at my house using Nikon Coolpix digital camera
IMG_8099
Photo taken at my house using Nikon Coolpix digital camera
IMG_8100
Photo taken at my house using Nikon Coolpix digital camera

Below here, I have taken some close up samples of deteriorated windows, rotten wood and cracked paint coming away from the window, I am excited to see what mediums I can use to give it the textured effect I have captured in the photos. I am interested in looking at decay, and living in a house that’s over 300 years old I am also familiar with the odd spiders web and moths sitting on a window sill. Which gave me another idea for my second final piece, I thought about being able to recreate moths or maybe some other household insect and show the real beauty we often ignore and don’t always appreciate.

Published by

lilypadx

18 years old, first year fine art student in Cardiff :)

One thought on “Further research onto Final Piece”

Leave a Reply

